January 20, 2019
January 21, 2019

NPP-USA Houston Chapter Elects New Executives

On Saturday January 12, 2019, the New Patriotic Party USA (NPP USA) Houston chapter elected new executives for the branch in Houston. The ceremony was attended by a large number of the Ghanaian community in Houston, Texas, and the surrounding areas including NPP sympathizers, former chapter executives, and Patrons of the Chapter. This election was done in accordance with the party’s regulations to elect new executives to take over from the outgoing executives for positions of Chairperson, Vice, Secretary, Women Organizer, Communications Director, Organizer, Treasurer and Youth Organizer

The members elected Jude Osei Owusu as the Chairman of the Houston chapter. The members also elected Dr. Josiah Halm as the Vice Chairman, Bernard Kwame Kujem as Secretary, and Daniel Mensah Opoku as Organizer. The rest are Esme Akofa Kwami, women organizer; Priscilla Agboka, Treasurer; Nana Yaw Asikuma, Youth Organizer; and Fred Ekow-Wilberforce was elected as the communications director.

In attendance to officiate the swearing in ceremony, was the USA NPP chairperson, Madam Obaa Yaa Frimpong and the immediate past Chairman Gene Gyamfi Nkrumah Adwabour (a.k.a young chairman). In her address to the newly elected executives after swearing them into office, Madam Obaa Yaa Frimpong admonished the new executives to be battle ready for lection 2020 and that victory can only come through selflessness and hard work, putting country first, and knowing that there is an uphill task ahead which requires that they serve, but not to be served , teamwork, dedication, commitment, patriotism and loyalty to members and the NPP party in general.”

The Chapter Executives being sworn in by Obaa Yaa Frimpong.
From Left: Mr. Yaw Asikuma, Mr. Ekow Wilber-Force, Mr. Jude Osei Owusu, Mr. Bernard Kujem,Mrs. Esme A. Kwami, Mr. Daniel Opoku.
Executives and Patrons with their Families

In his statement, the immediate past chairman, young chairman Gyamfi Nkrumah, encouraged the new executives to show great leadership, commitment and honesty while in office. Furthermore, the past chairman stated that during the reign of the immediate past executives NPP Houston Chapter, did not only assist the NPP party financially, but they also helped to win the Mfantseman parliamentary seat, and were very instrumental in hosting the then NPP presidential candidate Nana Akufo Addo and Vice president Dr. Bawumia in year 2010. According to chairman Gyamfi, the Houston chapter now have good financial stability and a vibrant web presence. He concluded by charging the new executives to use the achievement of the past executives as a benchmark to springboard to higher heights in order to help the NPP party retain power and also win Mfantseman parliamentary seats again in election 2020.

Mr. Jermaine Nkrumah who was also one of the founding members of the Houston chapter, gave the gathering a short history about the chapter and pledged to support the chapter in any means possible.

Other Patrons in the persons of Mr. Kwame Acheampong and Mr. Yaw Mensah, took to the podium to advice the current executive members to bury their ranks and work hard for the party to retain power come election 2020.

The newly elected executives are as follows: –

Mr. Jude Osei Owusu – Chairman                         

Dr. Josiah Halm – Vice Chairman

 Mr. Bernard Kwame Kujem – Secretary

Mrs. Priscilla Agboka – Treasurer

 Mr. Fred Ekow-Wilberforce – Communications Director

Mr. Daniel Mensah Opoku – Chapter Organizer

 Mrs. Esme Akofa Kwami – Women Organizer

Nana Yaw Asikumah – Youth Organizer

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: